Judith Ward

Watchman for The Lord

The Way of Pentecost!

Yesterday, Wednesday, June 8, 2011, according to the Bible would be the first day of Pentecost. According to the secular calendar it would be the second day of Pentecost. For the sake of this testimony I will use the secular calendar and call it the second day of our Pentecost celebration.

I was sitting in my living room during the late morning where I have a picture window view of the north woods on my property. A nose started to edge its way into view of the window. As I looked the nose which was scouring the ground for food became a face then the rest of the sleek beautiful body of a gorgeous doe (female deer). Initially I was unsure if it were a doe or antlerless buck but it didn’t take long to see she had either recently given birth or was about to give birth.

She lowered her head to eat some grass then it would go up quickly and alertly to scour all around for signs of predators. Needless to say she had my attention. Knowing it was the second day of Pentecost also made me think what great and awesome wonder could my Lord be trying to convey to me?

I recalled on the day my mother went home to be with the Lord I was driving down a country road before I got the fateful phone call telling me of my mother’s passing and there she stood on the side of that country road another doe staring at me from her vantage point on the side of the road preparing to leap right out in front of my car which she did although it was not a problem it could have been as I was watching her and slowing down in preparation for her leap out in front of my car.

That was the first time ever in my entire life I had a deer jump out in front of my car so needless to say I really took notice and when I got the call I couldn’t help but wonder if the Lord sent that doe that day in order to comfort my grieving heart.

So yesterday morning when I saw this doe again I recalled the last time I encountered a doe and couldn’t help but wonder since this is Pentecost what could the Lord be trying to convey to me? It seemed so interesting to me the significance of this day being Pentecost.

I was sure this sighting would be a one time sighting as she went out of my view on the other side of the window I thanked the Lord for allowing me to see such a beautiful creature and started to go about my business. It wasn’t long before I saw her again and again and again. Well after the third sighting in just a short period of time I decided I was going to stay and watch. She would go out of my sight and then she’d be a little while later. It was apparent she was either ready to deliver a baby or had just delivered a baby. I thought if she is ready to deliver she is a little too small in her belly.

Since I had never seen a deer in this woods the entire time I have lived here I was concerned about why she had chosen this woods and wanted to make sure she remained safe.

As the day progressed and it became clear she was staying I started to fear she could become the victim of poachers as my neighbor had told me about the problems he has had with poachers and asked I keep an eye out because once late night poachers start firing at helpless deer they can always miss and hit his bulls instead so he asked the neighboring ranchers to keep an eye out.

As the day was ending I looked up and the doe startled took off across the north woods for the neighbor’s woods. I knew that meant only one thing and that was there was a human approaching. I unleashed my guard dog out the front door and followed right on her heels knowing full well someone had trespassed into my west pasture. They had to in order to set the animals on the run.

Immediately I saw a strange white pickup truck parked right up in front of my gate. I looked at the place the dog was barking and there was a woman and a man walking towards the woods. I yelled, stop! What are you doing?! The woman had halted in her steps with total intrepidation written all over her face as she heard the dog and was terrified the dog may be able to get across that fence. She walked up to the fence and said Ma’am please forgive us but there is a doe leaping back and forth over this fence from the woods and she has a fawn that appears to be stuck!

Oh my word! I thought. So this explains the doe’s dilemma! Well the mamma doe had already fled up and over the high fence into the neighbors woods and taken off. The young man who appeared to be in his early twenties bent down near the fence by the woods and lifted up a speckled little fawn not much larger than his hand and forearm legs and all and reached over the barbed wire fence into the north woods where the mamma had been leaping back and forth across all day and put the baby down in the woods. He squealed in terror as he flew across the woods towards where his mamma and fled. Squealing at the top of his tiny little lungs he sounded much larger than his actual newborn size.

The young couple profusely apologized for trespassing and we visited awhile before they left.

When I came back into the house I greatly rejoiced at God’s wonderful goodness to allow me the great pleasure of experiencing helping the little fawn and the mamma doe. Then I searched the Scriptures with the word deer and this is what I found:

Isaiah 35:1-10 King James Version (KJV)

1 The wilderness and the solitary place shall be glad for them; and the desert shall
rejoice, and blossom as the rose.

2 It shall blossom abundantly, and rejoice even with joy and singing: the glory of Lebanon
shall be given unto it, the excellency of Carmel and Sharon, they shall see the glory of
the LORD, and the excellency of our God.

3 Strengthen ye the weak hands, and confirm the feeble knees.

4 Say to them that are of a fearful heart, Be strong, fear not: behold, your God will come
with vengeance, even God with a recompence; he will come and save you.

5 Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf shall be unstopped.

6 Then shall the lame man leap as an hart, and the tongue of the dumb sing: for in the
wilderness shall waters break out, and streams in the desert.

7 And the parched ground shall become a pool, and the thirsty land springs of water: in
the habitation of dragons, where each lay, shall be grass with reeds and rushes.

8 And an highway shall be there, and a way, and it shall be called The way of holiness;
the unclean shall not pass over it; but it shall be for those: the wayfaring men, though
fools, shall not err therein.

9 No lion shall be there, nor any ravenous beast shall go up thereon, it shall not be
found there; but the redeemed shall walk there:

10 And the ransomed of the LORD shall return, and come to Zion with songs and everlasting
joy upon their heads: they shall obtain joy and gladness, and sorrow and sighing shall
flee away.

For those who have read my book they will understand why the above Scripture means so much to me personally. While I was in the Sahara Desert unable to get my two little boys and myself out of Libya being held hostage in an Islamic dictatorship ruled by Muammar Gaddaffi being totally controlled by my ex husband who is a Muslim Research Scientist. I would read this Scripture in Isaiah 35 about the wilderness the solitary place and how the desert would blossom like a rose and blossom abundantly, and rejoice even with joy and singing and the glory of Lebanon would be given unto it, and the excellency of Carmel and Sharon, and how they would see the glory of the LORD, and the excellency of our God and my heart would long for these things and long for my freedom.

I could go line by line and verse by verse as to how and why this Scripture means so much to me it even became the title of my book A Way In The Wilderness And Streams In The Desert but I have already done that in the pages of my book which is available at by clicking on the picture of the book on this website or at Amazon.com or your local bookseller.

So you will see why the total experience with the doe and her fawn represent to me a new beginning here on earth of God’s magnificent grace and provision.

In verse 8 this Scripture says there shall be a highway called The way of holiness and further says the unclean shall not pass over it.

Have you made your heart holy by turning from your wicked ways and asking the Lord Jesus Christ to forgive you of your sins? Have you asked Him to wash you in His Holy blood so you can enter into the presence of our God the Lord Yahweh? Do you know Him has He forgiven you of your sins?
If you have not done so I invite you this very moment to surrender your heart and soul totally and forever to Him. Ask Him to come into your heart and be Lord of your life. He will be your way in the wilderness of life and provide streams in the desert of your soul just as He has done for me and so many others.

Whether you are born into a Jewish, Christian, Muslim or any other background please stop now and take note of where you will spend eternity. If you do not get right with the Lord now you will not spend eternity with Him in heaven but will go to the abode of the wicked in Hell.
Invite Jesus Christ into your heart to be your Lord and Savior on this the day we celebrate Pentecost the feast of weeks as spoken of in:

Deuteronomy 16:10 And thou shalt keep the feast of weeks unto the LORD thy God with a tribute of a freewill offering of thine hand, which thou shalt give unto the LORD thy God, according as the LORD thy God hath blessed thee: and this is the day the Holy Spirit was poured out on the 120 in the Book of Acts.

Happy Pentecost… Judith

10% of all profits and donations will be donated to charity.

Leave a Reply

